The Council

The World Future Council (WFC) consists of up to 50 respected personalities from all five continents. They represent governments, parliaments, the arts, civil society, academia and the business world. Together they form a voice for the rights of future generations. You can find the biographies of all Councillors as well as Honorary Councillors below.

WFC Councillors at AGM 2013 in Bonn © World Future Council


Dr. h.c. Hafsat Abiola-Costello

Founder, Kudirat Initiative for Democracy (KIND)

Dr. Ibrahim Abouleish

Founder of the Board of Directors, SEKEM Enterprises

Monique Barbut

Executive Secretary, UN Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD); former CEO and Chairperson, Global Environment Facility (GEF)

Dr. h.c. Maude Barlow

Chairperson, The Council of Canadians; former first Senior Advisor to the UN on water issues

Dipal Chandra Barua

Co-founder, Grameen Bank; Founding Manager, Grameen Shakti; Founder and Chairman, Bright Green Energy Foundation

Ana María Cetto

Research professor of the Institute of Physics and lecturer at the Faculty of Sciences, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Shuaib Chalklen

Former United Nations Special Rapporteur on Disability, South Africa

Dr. Tony Colman

Director, Africapractice; former MP

Prof. Marie-Claire Cordonier Segger

Director, Centre for International Sustainable Development Law (CISDL); Senior Director, Sustainable Prosperity

Thais Corral

Co-founder, Women's Environment and Development Organization (WEDO)

Nicholas Dunlop

Co-founder and Secretary General, Climate Parliament

Prof. Dr. Hans Peter Dürr (d. 2014)

Nuclear physicist and philosopher

Dr. Tewolde Berhan Gebre Egziabher

Director General, Environmental Protection Authority, Ethiopia

Dr, Riane Eisler

President, The Centre for Partnership Studies

Dr. Scilla Elworthy

Founder of the Oxford Research Group and of Peace Direct; Director of Programmes for the World Peace Partnership

Dr. María Fernanda Espinosa

Permanent Representative of Ecuador to the UN in Geneva; former Minister of National Defence

Anda Filip

Director for Member Parliaments and External Relations at the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU)

Dr. Sándor Fülöp

Former Parliamentary Commissioner for Future Generations in Hungary

Prof. Rafia Ghubash

President of the Arab Network for Women, Science and Technology; former President of the Arabian Gulf University

Luc Gnacadja

Former Executive Secretary of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD)

Daryl Hannah

Advocate for a sustainable world; actress

Dr. Ashok Khosla

Chairman, Centre for Development Alternatives; Co-President, Club of Rome

Prof. Dr. Rolf Kreibich

Former Scientific and Managing Director, IZT (Institute for Future Studies and Technology Assessment)

Dr. David Krieger

Co-Founder and President, Nuclear Age Peace Foundation

Prof. Alexander Likhotal

President, Green Cross International

Dr. Rama Mani

Senior Research Associate, Centre for International Studies, University of Oxford; Director; Global Centre for the Responsibility to Protect: Southern Cultural Perspectives

Wanjira Mathai

Chair, Green Belt Movement; Project Leader, Wangari Maathai Institute for Peace & Environmental Studies

Julia Marton-Lefèvre

Former Director General of International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)

Prof. Dr. Manfred Max-Neef

Professor at the Economics Institute, Universidad Austral de Chile; Pioneer of 'Barefoot Economics'

Jan McAlpine

Former Director, United Nations Forum on Forests (UNFF) Secretariat - Department of Economic and Social Affairs

Frances Moore Lappé

Founder, Small Planet Institute; author

Dr. Auma Obama

Founder and Director of the “Sauti Kuu Foundation”; Board Member of the Jacobs Foundation

Anna Oposa

Co-Founder, Save Philippine Seas

Dr. Katiana Orluc

Director of Development/Strategic Affairs, Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary (TBA21)

Ahmedou Ould-Abdallah

President, Centre of Strategies and Security in the Sahel Sahara; former Senior UN Official and Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General for Somalia

Sirpa Pietikäinen

Member of European Parliament and former Minister of Environment

Prof. Dr. Vandana Shiva

Founder, Research Foundation for Science, Technology and Ecology (Navdanya)

Sulak Sivaraksa

Co-founder, International Network of Engaged Buddhists

Pavan Sukhdev

Founder-CEO of GIST Advisory Pvt Ltd

Prof. Motoyuki Suzuki

Professor Emeritus, University of Tokyo; Chairman of the Central Environmental Council

Pauline Tangiora

Maori Elder of the Rongomaiwahine Tribe; Earth Charter Commissioner and member of the Earth Council

Alyn Ware

Founder and international Co-ordinator of the Network Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament (PNND)

Francisco Whitaker Ferreira

Co-founder, World Social Forum

Anders Wijkman

Vice-President of the Club of Rome; Former President, GLOBE EU; former UN Assistant Secretary General

Honorary Councillors

Patrus Ananias

Former Brazilian Minister of Social Development and the Fight against Hunger

Ahmed Djoghlaf

Former Executive Secretary of the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD)

Prof. Herbert Girardet

Consultant to UNEP and UN-Habitat; author

Dr. Olivier Giscard D'Estaing

Chairman; INSEAD Foundation and Comité pour un Parlement Mondial

Jane Goodall, Ph.D., DBE

Founder, Jane Goodall Institute; UN Messenger of Peace

Prof. Dr. Wangari Maathai (d. 2011)

Founder, Green Belt Movement

Sir James R. Mancham

Founding President of the Republic of Seychelles; President, Global Peace Council of the Universal Peace Federation

Dr. Gertrude Ibengwé Mongella

Special Advisor to the ECA Executive Secretary and to the UNESCO Director General; Founder, Advocacy for Women in Africa (AWA); former President of the Pan-African Parliament

Dr. Michael Otto

Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Otto Group; Founder and Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Michael Otto Foundation for the Protection of the Environment

The Hon. Arthur N.R. Robinson (d. 2014)

Former President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

Judge C. G. Weeramantry

Founder and Chairman, Weeramantry International Centre for Peace Education and Research (WICPER); President, International Association of Lawyers Against Nuclear Arms

Prof. Dr. Ernst Ulrich von Weizsäcker

Co-Chair, International Panel for Sustainable Resource Management

Barbara Woschek

Benefactress and Initiator of the Ending Violence against Women and Girls Project

Support our work!

Stay in touch!

 Subscribe to our newsletter

Learn more!